Home Community Susan Adolf to receive JCFR L’Dor V’Dor Woman of Valor Award

Susan Adolf to receive JCFR L’Dor V’Dor Woman of Valor Award


Longtime leader of the Jewish community and dedicated volunteer, Susan Adolf, will receive the Jewish Community Federation of Richmond’s L’Dor V’Dor Woman of Valor Award.

This annual event honors the connection from generation to generation – L’Dor V’Dor – and celebrates the power of Women’s Philanthropy and the impact it has on our community.

L’Dor V’Dor, hosted by Women’s Philanthropy of JCFR, will be held at the Branch Museum of Architecture and Design on Wednesday, May 8, at 6 p.m.

The co-chairs are Elly Goldberg and Lynn Schwartz.

To RSVP, visit www.jewishrichmond.org/calendar/jcfr-ldor-vdor-1692032451

Special Guests

At the event, the community will be joined by two speakers from Soldiers in Uniform, a program sponsored by the IDF and Jewish Agency for Israel. The program is to strengthen Jewish identity and connection between Israelis and Jews outside Israel, and at the same time to convey the voice of the Jewish People outside Israel to Israelis.

The soldiers will join us in Richmond for this event and for the Yom HaZikaron and Yom HaAtzmaut events the following week. They will share their personal stories and experiences.

About Susie Adolf

Susie Adolf has demonstrated an unwavering commitment to community service and leadership throughout her life, becoming a prominent figure in various organizations and initiatives.

Over the decades, Susie has embarked on a remarkable journey of service, serving on the boards of multiple Jewish organizations in our community, including the Jewish Community Federation of Richmond, the Weinstein JCC, and Beth Sholom Home.

Additionally, she has contributed her expertise to numerous committees in the Greater Richmond area.

Susie’s tireless dedication has made a lasting impact, reflected in her numerous accolades.

Among these honors are the Lion of Judah Kipnis-Wilson/Friedland Award in 2016 and the Sophie Stahl Award from Jewish Women International in 2022. She has also been recognized with the Weinstein JCC President’s Award five times and received the Virginia Center for Inclusive Communities Humanitarian Award in 2017.

Susie has profoundly influenced her community and will undoubtedly continue to inspire future generations.

Past award recipients include: Selma Brown (obm), Miriam Davidow, Deane Dubansky, Bea Fine (obm), Anne Fisher (obm), Inge Horowitz, Edith Glock (obm), Carolyn Grandis, Helen Horwitz, Willa Kalman, Amy Krumbein, Hedy Lapkin, Jeanette Lipman (obm), Pearl Karp Markham (obm), Bertha Meyer (obm), Susan Meyers, Sara Belle November (obm), Catherine Plotkin, Shirley Plotkin (obm), Fran Raphael (obm), Elise Scherr, Lynn Schwartz, Barbara Shocket (omb), Nannette Shor, Susan Sisisky, Sara Waskin, Carole Weinstein, Dorothy Wizer, Hortense Wolf (obm) and Helen Zimm (obm).